Portuguese Public Holidays in 2022 – 2023

Written By Lara Silva

As a religious country with many dates of cultural significance, Portugal has many national public holidays that are legally recognized in the state’s labor code. On these days, many shops and businesses are closed as workers take time off.

The public national holidays in Portugal are a mixture of celebrations of days of historical or cultural significance, as well as Roman Catholic religious days.

Although there are many Portuguese public holidays, known as feriados, there’s a catch! If a holiday falls on a Sunday, for example, it is not taken on the next Monday, unlike in other countries. 

In Portugal, you have both mandatory and optional Portuguese holidays. Some holidays are nationwide and others are regional.

Let’s take a look at the list of national public holidays for 2022 and 2023. 

Nationwide Portuguese Public Holidays in 2022 – 2023

2022

  • Saturday, January 1: New Year’s Day
  • Friday, April 15: Good Friday
  • Sunday, April 17: Easter Sunday
  • Monday, April 25: Freedom Day to celebrate the Carnation Revolution
  • Sunday, May 1: Labor Day 
  • Friday, June 10: Portugal National Day 
  • Thursday, June 16: Corpus Christi 
  • Monday, August 15: Assumption of Mary 
  • Wednesday, October 5: Republic Day 
  • Tuesday, November 1: All Saints’ Day 
  • Thursday, December 1: Restoration of Independence Day 
  • Thursday, December 8: Immaculate Conception 
  • Sunday, December 25: Christmas Day 

2023 

  • Sunday, January 1: New Year’s Day 
  • Friday, April 7: Good Friday 
  • Sunday, April 9: Easter Sunday
  • Tuesday, April 25: Freedom Day 
  • Monday, May 1: Labor Day 
  • Thursday, June 8: Corpus Christi 
  • Saturday, June 10: Portugal National Day 
  • Tuesday, August 15: Assumption of Mary 
  • Thursday, October 5: Republic Day
  • Wednesday, November 1: All Saints’ Day 
  • Friday, December  1: Restoration of Independence Day 
  • Friday, December 8: Immaculate Conception 
  • Sunday, December 25: Christmas Day 

Local Holidays in Portugal in 2022 – 2023

Here are some of the local holidays in Portugal for 2022 and 2023. However, bear in mind, that there are a lot more local holidays in Portugal. These are some of the most commonly known but do check with your local municipality.

2022

  • Saturday, January 15: Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • Saturday, January 22: Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • Saturday, March 19: Saint Joseph’s Day in Santarem
  • Wednesday, April 20: Our Lady of Mercoles in Castelo Branco
  • Saturday, April 23: Saint George’s Day in Velas
  • Thursday, May 12: St Joana’s Day in Aveiro
  • Monday, May 23: Portalegre Day in Portalegre
  • Tuesday, May 24: Azores Day in the Azores
  • Monday, June 13: Saint Anthony’s Day in Lisbon
  • Friday, June 24: Saint John’s Day in Porto, Braga, Figueira da Foz, and Almada
  • Monday, July 4: Saint Elizabeth’s Day in Coimbra
  • Monday, July 18: Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • Saturday, August 20: Our Lady of Sorrows in Viana do Castelo
  • Monday, August 22: Our Lady of Graces in Braganca
  • Friday, September 2: Municipal holiday in Povoacao
  • Wednesday, September 7: Faro Day in Faro
  • Sunday, October 9: Municipal holiday in Machico
  • Friday, November 25: Saint Catherine’s Day in Calheta

2023

  • Sunday, January 15: Municipal holiday in Santa Cruz
  • Sunday, January 22: Municipal holiday in Sao Vicente
  • Sunday, March 19: Saint Joseph’s Day in Santarem
  • Sunday, April 23: Saint George’s Day in Velas
  • Tuesday, May 23: Portalegre Day in Portalegre
  • Wednesday, May 24: Azores Day in the Azores
  • Tuesday, June 13: Saint Anthony’s Day in Lisbon
  • Saturday, June 24: Saint John’s Day in Porto, Braga, Figueira da Foz, and Almada
  • Tuesday, July 4: Saint Elizabeth’s Day in Coimbra
  • Tuesday, July 18: Municipal holiday in Nordeste
  • Sunday, August 20: Our Lady of Sorrows in Viana do Castelo
  • Thursday, September 7: Faro Day in Faro
  • Monday, October 9: Municipal holiday in Machico
  • Saturday, November 25: Saint Catherine’s Day in Calheta

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Follow Us

83FansLike
45FollowersFollow
51FollowersFollow
Booking.com

Most Popular

Expat Guide: Moving to Lisbon

Moving to a new city is always daunting, especially if you are relocating to a whole new country. If you are moving to Lisbon...

Vaccinations in Portugal: The Portuguese Vaccine System

Portugal is known for having an effective national vaccination program and generally a positive public attitude towards vaccines. The vaccination rate in Portugal for...

Douro Valley

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site, the Douro Valley should be on the top of your list if you are visiting the North...

Latest Articles